2009 History

Formula Hybrid Competition

On May 4, 5, 6, at the New Hampshire Motor Speedway, 22 college and university teams gathered to compete in the 3rd annual Formula Hybrid International Competition. Founded and run by Thayer School of Engineering at Dartmouth, the competition features high-performance hybrid race cars built by teams of undergraduate and graduate engineering students.

Through rain and shine, students rose again to the challenges of Formula Hybrid. Day one of the competition consisted of the technical inspections as well as the design and marketing presentation events. Day two featured the acceleration runs, the autocross competition, and the design finals. And day three held the endurance event followed by the awards ceremony.

Here are the quick stats of the event.

Teams in Attendance

  • Brigham Young University
  • California Polytechnic State University-SLO
  • California State Polytechnic University-Pomona
  • Colorado State University
  • Dartmouth College
  • Drexel University
  • Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University
  • Florida Institute of Technology
  • Illinois Institute of Technology
  • Illinois Institute of Technology
  • MADI State Technical University (Russia)
  • McGill University (Canada)
  • Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute
  • Texas A&M University-College Station
  • Tufts University
  • University of Alabama
  • University of California-Irvine
  • University of California-San Diego
  • University of Houston-College of Technology
  • University of Manitoba (Canada)
  • University of Vermont
  • University of Wisconsin-Madison

See more photos on Flickr

2009 Winners

  • 1st place Overall Hybrid: Texas A&M University
  • 2nd place Overall Hybrid: Colorado State University
  • 3rd place Overall Hybrid: Drexel University

Full 2009 competition results (Excel Spreadsheet)

Individual Events and Awards

  • 1st place Design: Texas A&M University
  • 1st place Presentation: Texas A&M University
  • 1st place Endurance: Texas A&M University
  • 1st place Autocross: Texas A&M University
  • 1st place Unrestricted Acceleration: Colorado State University
  • 1st place Electric Only Acceleration: Colorado State University
  • Plug-In-America Best Hybrid-in-Progress Award: California Polytechnic State University-SLO
  • IEEE Future of Engineering Award: Dartmouth College
  • Chrysler Award for Best Hybrid System Engineering: Brigham Young University
  • Thayer School of Engineering Dean’s Award for Innovation: Brigham Young University

2009 Event Information

Important Documents for 2009 Competition

Judging Sheets:

Tech Sheets:

General Information:

Other Information

Press Release:

“Plug In America Announces Grant Program to Support 2009 Formula Hybrid Competition” (PDF)

Video Summary of the 2009 Formula Hybrid Competition

The Texas A&M car was “blisteringly fast.”

California Polytechnic State University-SLO had uniquely slanted wheels.

Colorado borrowed tires from their faculty advisor’s car.

“We’re a hydraulic hybrid so we were disqualified. We’re hoping next year they’ll allow different classes of hybrids.” — Brigham Young University.