2014 History

Formula Hybrid Competition

Final Results

Hybrid Results

  1. University of Idaho
  2. Lawrence Technological University
  3. Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University

Electric-only Results

  1. Dartmouth
  2. University of Vermont
  3. Carnegie Mellon University

IEEE Engineering the Future Award and Excellence in EV Engineering Awards

  • University of Vermont (for multidisciplinary makeup of the team and evidence that the vehicle design contained all of the features of a proper racecar)
  • Carnegie Mellon University (for excellence in the entire EV engineering process)

General Motors Best-Engineered Hybrid Award

  • University of Idaho ($2,500)
  • Embry-Riddle ($1,500)
  • University of Waterloo ($1,000)

Chrysler Innovation Award

  • University of Idaho ($2,000)
  • Embry-Riddle ($1,000)
  • University of Akron ($500)

New Hampshire Motor Speedway Fan Favorite Award

  • Team Chimera (Nitte Meenakshi and RV College)

Skip Barber Teamwork Award

  • McMaster University (for displaying the best overall collaborative teamwork skills)

Video Contest Winners

Congratulations to the video contest winners of 2014! In first place, with the Best All-Encompassing video, Michigan Hybrid Racing took the cup. Their MHR-14-Test Day video comprehensively tells the story of the the hybrid engineering experience.

Rensselaer Formula Hybrid Team took second place with the Best Original Soundtrack for their video RPI Formula Hybrid Song 2014. RPI’s song creatively expresses the student perspective on how to balance the Formula Hybrid life with having a relationship. Well done!

Third place went to Michigan Hybrid Racing for their second video submission MHybrid Racing – Formula Hybrid Competition 2014. This video takes the award for Most Riveting!

Each team was sent a unique trophy.

Events Summary

Information About the Event

2014 Registered Teams

  • Atilim University
  • Carnegie Mellon University
  • Dartmouth College
  • Delhi Technological University
  • Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University
  • Ferris State University
  • Georgia Institute of Technology
  • Illinois Institute of Technology
  • Lawrence Technological University
  • McMaster University
  • Middle Tennessee State University
  • Milwaukee School of Engineering
  • Nitte Meenakshi Institute of Technology
  • Princeton University
  • RV College of Engineering
  • Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute
  • Tufts University
  • University of Akron
  • University of Houston – Houston
  • University of Idaho
  • University of Michigan – Ann Arbor
  • University of Vermont
  • University of Waterloo
  • Yale University

Important Documents for the 2014 Competition

General Information:

Tech Sheets:

Video Summary of the 2014 Formula Hybrid Competition
Carnegie Mellon Racing from Carnegie Mellon University

Carnegie Mellon Racing from Carnegie Mellon University.

Vandal Racing from University of Idaho

Vandal Racing from the University of Idaho.

Bulldogs Racing from Yale University

Bulldogs Racing from Yale University.

Dartmouth Formula Racing from Dartmouth

Dartmouth Formula Racing from Dartmouth.

Michigan Hybrid Racing from University of Michigan

Michigan Hybrid Racing from the University of Michigan.